Wikis

Wikis

Still in my infancy of becoming knowlegeable in the tools available on the web, I am becoming familiar with Wikis.  I am currently part of two Wikis for two college classes I am taking.  A Wiki is a “living” document that can be edited by all members of a group.  I’m finding that my organization may be different than someone else’s organization. This can create problems when we try to have flow in a group Wiki.  Depending on how specific that goal is for a Wiki can also determine which direction the Wiki will go.  Currently my group’s Wiki on how to use Youtube in teaching is evolving.  There is so much information on the web that paring it down is hard.  I have found several sites like Youtube that have potential to help me become a better teacher that this assignment has been beneficial for me.

I’ve always been skeptical of Wikipedia due to how people can edit it.  Although there are still areas of concern, it can be a great starting point for research.  Facts should be verified by other sources though.  I’ve changed my opinion and believe Wikipedia can be a valuable resource.

I haven’t brought up using Wikis in my class but am working on ways I can have students use them in my class.  This may be as simple as collaborating on researching various sports.  I believe Wikis will be well received by both my administration and my students.

Brad

Leave a Reply

